The Graduate School of Biosphere Science was established in April 1985 through the reorganization of both the Graduate School of Environmental Studies in the Faculty of Integrated Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School of Agriculture in the Faculty of Applied Biological Science.

It was reorganized into three departments in April 2006, that is, Bioresource Science, Biofunctional Science and Technology, and Environmental Dynamics and Management.