Message from the Dean

Educational mission of School of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dean, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Hiroyuki Kamiya

School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Hiroshima University consists of 2 Programs; Program of Pharmaceutical Sciences (6-year program) and Program of Medicinal Sciences (4-year program). At Program of Pharmaceutical Sciences, we aim to educate pharmacists who can significantly contribute the pharmacotherapy of patients as a member of a medical team, and who can develop a novel pharmacotherapy. At Program of Medicinal Sciences and the following graduate school, we aim to educate pharmaceutical scientists who will be responsible for the future drug discovery and development in Japan and in the world.

Join us, and enjoy the general classes, student practices, seminars, and cutting-edge research on pharmaceutical sciences at School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Hiroshima University.


Hiroyuki Kamiya, Ph.D. is a Professor of Graduate School of Biomedical and Health Sciences since 2014, and is the Dean of School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Hiroshima University since 2020. He received his Ph.D. (1991) in Pharmaceutical Sciences from Hokkaido University. Dr. Kamiya worked at Hokkaido University and University of Occupational and Environmental Health as Research Associate, Assistant Professor, and Associate Professor, and at Ehime University as a Professor. His research interests include molecular mechanisms of mutagenesis and carcinogenesis by damaged nucleic acids, and development of nucleic acids for gene therapy. He received the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan Award for Young Scientists (2000), the Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society (JEMS) Encouragement Award (2006), and the JEMS Award (2019) for his outstanding achievements in the research fields.