About HU

Honorary Distinguished Professor

The title of Honorary Distinguished Professor is conferred by Hiroshima University on those who have made outstanding accomplishments in their academic fields, and notable contributions to the development of education and research at Hiroshima University.

◆Awarded on March 7th, 2016 / Shinya Yamanaka - Japan / Professor, Kyoto University

◆Awarded on March 7th, 2016 / Sir John Gurdon – UK / Professor, Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

◆Awarded on April 5th, 2017 / Sir Paul Nurse – UK / Director, Francis Crick Institute

◆Awarded on March 27th, 2018 / Sir Muhammad Yunus – Bangladesh / Founder, Grameen Bank

◆Awarded on May 16th, 2018 / Yoshinori Ohsumi – Japan / Honorary Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology

◆Awarded on March 11th, 2019 / Hiroshi Amano – Japan / Director, Center for Integrated Research of Future Electronics, Institute of Materials and Systems for Sustainability, Nagoya University

◆Awarded on July 20th, 2019 / Tasuku Honjo – Japan / Deputy Director-General and Distinguished Professor, Kyoto University Institute for Advanced Study